Michael Schmidt

code2design

„Our holistic 360-degree approach to design projects enables us to tap into the emotional value that motivates future decisions to purchase.“ Michael Schmidt

We are drawn to appealing products and charismatic objects in the same way that we enjoy the company of interesting, fascinating people. This elusive quality is what makes objects desirable, it is essential to the success of a product and for strengthening a brand.

What´s the secret behind such products and product systems? At code2design, we have spent many years developing and refining our design process with the aim of creating this special quality. We firmly believe that a holistic approach with a 360-degree view of design projects is the only way to tap into the emotional value motivating future decisions to purchase.

Perfect functionality and intuitive use form the natural starting point for our designs, with a multitude of other perspectives also flowing into the process. In this way we create design solutions that actively engage our product users and admirers for far longer, designs that awaken emotions and leave space for individual interpretation. Products that are expressive, yet maintain their depth and their multifaceted fascination. Products that build brand strategy with an aesthetic appearance encompassing a wealth of significance: form follows content.


”As a designer also focused on strategy, design thinking is a method that I have been using for decades as a tried and proven way of finding and implementing innovative solutions, rather than just a new trend.“ Michael Schmidt

Our team approaches the innovation process in the same way as we would work on a specific design project, from a holistic perspective: company brands and products are evaluated in terms of relevant markets, target groups, design, technology, materials and current trends.

In this way innovation strategies are created that provide our clients with new impulses for development, enabling them to tap into new and promising market potential. Workshops held together with management, staff and external experts combine expertise, increase the acceptance of new goals and the changes required to achieve them.

Michael Schmidt and C2D can support companies in the development of corporate and brand design strategies as well with product portfolio planning and the creation of development road maps – or we can develop your strategy for you. As an entrepreneur, you benefit from the proven expertise in communication and design of our consultant team as well as from the creativity and entrepreneurial thinking that form part of the genetic make-up of our design studio. Our consultancy process delivers concrete results in clearly defined steps; we are success-oriented and driven by action.

Michael Schmidt

code2design

„Nur mit einem ganzheitlichen Designansatz, einer Betrachtung der Designaufgabe aus einem 360°-Blickwinkel, können wir den emotionalen Wert schöpfen, der zukünftige Kaufentscheidungen motiviert.“ Michael Schmidt

So wie wir die Gesellschaft interessanter, faszinierender Menschen genießen, bevorzugen wir auch Produkte mit Ausstrahlung, Objekte mit Charisma. Diese schwer fassbare Qualität macht Dinge begehrenswert, sie ist der entscheidende Schlüssel zum Erfolg eines Produkts und der Stärkung einer Marke.

Was ist das Geheimnis solcher Produkte und Produktsysteme? code2design praktiziert seit vielen Jahren einen Designprozess mit dem Ziel, diese besondere Qualität zu erzeugen. Wir sind überzeugt: Nur mit einem ganzheitlichen Designansatz, einer Betrachtung der Designaufgabe aus einem 360°-Blickwinkel, können wir den emotionalen Wert schöpfen, der zukünftige Kaufentscheidungen motiviert.

Perfekte Funktionalität und intuitive Bedienung bilden dabei die selbstverständliche Grundlage. Darüber hinaus fließen in unseren Designprozess eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Perspektiven ein. So schaffen wir gestalterische Lösungen, die Betrachter und Nutzer nachhaltiger involvieren und so Emotionen auslösen. Produkte, die zum Nutzer sprechen, gleichzeitig aber ihre Tiefe, ihre vielschichtige Faszination behalten.Produkte, die Marken strategisch weiterentwickeln und deren ästhetische Erscheinung eine Fülle von Bedeutung codiert: form follows content.


„Design Thinking ist für mich als strategisch denkender Designer nicht die neueste Methode der Saison, sondern der jahrzehntelang praktizierte und bewährte Weg, innovative Lösungen zu finden und in gute Gestaltung umzusetzen.“ Michael Schmidt

Wie im spezifischen Designprozess geht das Team bei Innovationsprozessen die Aufgaben aus einer ganzheitlichen Perspektive an: Marke und Produkte eines Unternehmens werden unter den Aspekten der relevanten Märkte,der Zielgruppen, des Designs, der Technologien, der Materialien und der Trends analysiert.

Auf dieser Basis entstehen Innovationsstrategien, die Unternehmen Impulse zu neuen Entwicklungen geben und zukunftsträchtige Marktpotenziale erschließen. Gemeinsame Workshops mit Management, Mitarbeitern sowie externen Experten bündeln die Kräfte und fördern die Akzeptanz neuer Ziele wie auch der dafür nötigen Veränderungen.

Michael Schmidt und C2D begleiten die Entwicklung von Marken- und Corporate-Design-Strategien ebenso wie die Planung von Produkt-Portfolios und Entwicklungsroadmaps – oder übernehmen sie federführend. Als Unternehmer profitieren Sie von der erwiesenen Kommunikations- und Designkompetenz des Beraterteams wie auch von der Kreativität und dem unternehmerischen Denken, das im Gencode des Studios verwurzelt ist. In definierten Schritten führt unser Beratungsprozess zu konkreten Ergebnissen, erfolgsorientiert und geprägt von einer Philosophie des Handelns.